Are Honey Nut Cheerios Vegan?


Cheerios are a classic breakfast option for many people around the world. There are many different kinds of cheerios available on the market which are mostly vegan. On the other hand, honey nut cheerios are not vegan. Because of the fact that ss the name implies, there is honey included in it which is completely non-vegan. Even though cheerios are a kind of necessity to start a fresh day, honey nut cheerios are not even an option for vegan people.

Unfortunately, Honey Nut Cheerios is far from being a vegan product due to the honey it contains. Honey is also a problematic product among vegans. It is highly controversial in both ethical and environmental aspects. Honey Nut Cheerios is one of the products that vegans cannot consume, as it is obtained by using sheep wool in vitamin D3, which the brand uses in production, in addition to the honey it contains.

Cheerios and honey nut cheerios contain wool grease in order to increase the amount of vitamin D. It means that even though these cereals are produced with vegan ingredients, there are some ingredients included as well that are not suitable for vegan people and people who have plant-based diets such as honey and sugar.



Honey nut cheerios have an effect like an oxymoron on vegan people and they do not want to know the ingredients while eating that because of the fact that the honey which is the main ingredient of the honey nut cheerios creates that effect on vegan people. It is an animal-derived ingredient that has a sugar-like effect. Vegan people do not include honey in their diet because of the fact that they believe honey is taken from bees without their permission which is against their beliefs. So, they avoid eating honey nut cheerios which is not vegan at all. Even though cheerios are vegan-friendly products, due to honey, sugar, and vitamin D ingredients, we cannot say they are 100% vegan.

Honey Nut Cheerios Ingredients


  • Whole grain oats
  • Modified corn starch
  • Honey
  • Brown sugar syrup
  • Salt
  • Tripotassium phosphate
  • Canola oil
  • Rice bran oil
  • Natural almond flavor
  • Vitamin E


Honey


Honey is a very common sweetener. It is considered to be healthier than sugar. In addition to its use as a sweetener, it has also been used in making alcohol. It is the main ingredient of mead, as the name suggests. Honey is a product that can be consumed for years without losing its properties and freshness and can be stored without spoiling. This feature is due to the inability of microorganisms to form and multiply.

In addition to these advantages, honey is not a vegan product. It is of animal origin, not of plant origin. Although there is no consensus on this issue, it is not possible to accept honey as a vegan product. Behind this thesis is the idea that bees must be exploited for honey production. Although bees produce honey for themselves, when we collect their honey, we steal their food and harm them, which is a diametrically opposite view to veganism.

In addition to the damage it causes to bees, beekeeping is also harmful to the environment. In short, honey is a substance that is found to be against veganism both ethically and environmentally.

Sugar


Sugar is a kind of must nutrition for all of the homes, an indispensable sweetener in the food industry, and a frequently used ingredient in breakfast cereals. Sugar is an ingredient that may or may not be vegan depending on how it’s produced. Bone charcoal, which is also used in refined sugar, takes the product far from being vegan. The inclusion of any animal product in the process during production makes that product non-vegan. Of course, this production process is not used by all sugar producers in the market.

All these discussions have made it necessary to question the production process of the sugar used in Honey Nut Cheerios. However, although it is common to use bone charcoal, it is not known exactly what type of sugar Cheerios uses. This situation took its place in all uncertainties and made Honey Nut Cheerios not vegan.



Vitamin D


Consumption of vitamin D is also one of the controversial issues among vegans. In order for the body and its mechanisms to function properly, vitamin D intake is necessary, albeit in small amounts. Vitamin D can be met mostly by the consumption of fruits and vegetables. The body can also produce vitamin D on its own with UV radiation from the sun, but taking it from the outside will also be healthy in the long run.

Vitamin intake is a habit that is not generally accepted in vegan diets. Because vitamins D on the market is considered to be animal-based. But besides this, it is a vitamin that the body absolutely needs.

With the development of technology, plant-based sources have also been used in the production of vitamin D. In fact, studies on the production of synthetic vitamin D have even begun. Considering all these theories, the idea that foods containing vitamin D are not vegan has been adopted. Honey Nut Cheerios is just one of them.



Vegan Cheerios Flavors


There are certain 3 types of flavors that everyone knows which are original ones, honey nut ones, and multigrain. On the other hand, there are more than 20 different flavors that you can find on the markets. They are not very popular. Down below, you will see the ingredients whether they are vegan or not. While shopping for cheerios, you can pick the vegan ones easily with this list.

  • Toasted Coconut Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Blueberry Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Maple Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Cheerios Oat Crunch, Cinnamon – Honey, Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Peach Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Original Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Honey Nut Cheerios – Honey, Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Multi-Grain Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Chocolate Cheerios -Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Fruity Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Frosted Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Banana Nut Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Cheerios Oat Crunch, Oats ‘N Honey – Honey, Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Chocolate Strawberry Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Cinnamon Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch – Honey, Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Multi-Grain Cheerios with Real Strawberries – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Pumpkin Spice Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar
  • Very Berry Cheerios – Vitamin D3, Sugar

As you can understand from the list, all types of cheerios contain vitamin D3, sugar, or honey. If you have a vegan diet, it is not possible for you to eat most of them. There are especially 4 of them not proper at all for you which definitely contain honey.

  • Honey Nut Cheerios
  • Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch
  • Cheerios Oat Crunch, Cinnamon
  • Cheerios Oat Crunch, Oats’N Honey


Cheerios


No matter where you have lived in the world or which country you grew up in, you must have tasted Cheerios at some point in your life or seen them on the market shelves. This product, known for its O shape, has been a savior meal for many people around the world. It is usually consumed at breakfast. Although this was the case, no one was too curious about its content.

For many years, consumers have not been interested in what Cheerios are made of, what materials they contain, or when they are produced. On the other hand, changing diets, changing technology, and changing food habits have made people acquire the habit of reading ingredients and labels. This is especially important for those who follow plant-based diets or are vegans. They do not want to consume products with added animal products or by-products during or after production.

Cheerios dates back to 1941. It is a company founded in America by General Mills. It was called CheeriOats when it was first produced. It was called by this name because it mainly contains whole-grain oats. However, it has been called Cheerios, the name we know now, since 1945. It is the best known, most popular, and preferred breakfast cereal when it was first produced and even today. Even the O-shaped cereals produced later continued to be called Cheerios.



Cheerios Ingredients

  • Whole grain oats
  • Corn starch
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Tripotassium phosphate
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Iron and zinc (mineral nutrients)
  • Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate)
  • AB Vitamin (niacinamide)
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin A (palmitate)
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate)
  • Folic acid
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D3

These ingredients are included in all Cheerios products you will buy. All of the original Cheerios have these ingredients, including versions with honey and nuts. These breakfast cereals are mainly made by adding whole grain oats, cornstarch, sugar, salt, and a few preservatives. It is produced completely gluten-free. The company, which has been producing gluten-free cereals since 2015, has become the priority of many people.

In 2014, the use of genetically modified ingredients was zeroed. It has been a move that has moved the brand quite far in a competitive market. In 2015, as we mentioned above, they started to produce gluten-free products by eliminating wheat, rye, and barley residues. Cheerios has been the first choice of many people around the world, having a policy that constantly improves the product quality even though they have not expanded their product catalogs much since the day it was founded.



Honey Nut Cheerios Cups, Cereal with Oats, Gluten-Free, 1.8 oz, 12 Cups

They are thought of as a lifesaver mostly by parents. They are just a great size for children to eat as breakfast. They are very convenient boxes. There is no need to clean up after eating. You can carry these boxes with you wherever you go. Apart from breakfast, they can be used for a snack as well. If you are not worried about the ingredients in it, it will be a good option for you. https://www.amazon.com/Honey-Cheerios-Cereal-Gluten-Free/dp/B00437CBWG/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=Honey+Nut+Cheerios&qid=1622537246&sr=8-2 



Honey Nut Cheerios, Cereal with Oats, Gluten-Free, 27.2 Oz

It is an even better option among Cheerios products due to being glüten-free. It is a cereal flavored with real honey and natural almond. It is a great breakfast option with a delicious taste and is a source of iron and calcium. There are 12 vital vitamins and minerals included in it. It is recommended to eat 75 grams per serving, however, of course it is up to your preference and your hunger level. https://www.amazon.com/Honey-Cheerios-Gluten-Free-Cereal/dp/B07CM8J4NC/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=Honey%2BNut%2BCheerios&qid=1622537246&sr=8-1&th=1 



General Mills, Honey Nut Cheerios, Medley Crunch Cereal, 13.1oz Box (Pack of 2)

They are very flavory, crunchy, and tasty cereal that can be eaten as a breakfast and snack. This will be one of your favorite breakfast options. You can eat them as much as you want and every day. Even though it is recommended to eat 75 grams per serving, however, of course, it is up to your preference and your hunger level. https://www.amazon.com/General-Cheerios-Medley-Crunch-Cereal/dp/B00BH51B0K/ref=sr_1_9?dchild=1&keywords=Honey+Nut+Cheerios&qid=1622537246&sr=8-9



Are Cereals Healthy?


Added sugar may be the single worst ingredient in the modern diet. It contributes to chronic diseases and most people consume too much of it. Remarkably, much of this sugar comes from processed foods, and breakfast cereals are among the popular processed foods that are high in added sugar. In fact, sugar is second or third on the ingredient list of most cereals.

Starting the day with a high-sugar breakfast cereal will skyrocket your blood sugar and insulin levels. After a few hours, your blood sugar drops and the body craves another high-carb meal or snack. This can potentially create a binge-eating cycle. Excess consumption of sugar can also increase the risk of type-2 diabetes, heart disease, and cancer.

Breakfast cereals are marketed as healthy. They have statements such as low-fat, whole grain, but refined grains and sugar are usually at the top of the ingredient list. A small amount of whole grains does not make these products healthy. However, studies show that health claims are effective in convincing consumers that the product is healthy.

Food manufacturers specifically target children. Companies attract children’s attention by using bright colors, cartoon characters, and action figures. So this causes kids to pair breakfast cereals with fun. This also affects taste preferences. Studies show that foods with popular cartoon characters on the packaging taste better to some children.

Exposure to food marketing is seen as a risk factor for childhood obesity and other nutrition-related ailments. These products also have misleading health claims. Although colors and cartoons make these products more attractive to children, the reason parents buy them for their children is that they think about the health benefits and feel good.

Recent Posts